Opening a Swiss bank account as an expat: documents, fees and timing
What banks check, the papers five providers ask for, how long opening takes, what an account costs, US-person rules, deposit protection and what happens when you leave.
In short
To open a Swiss bank account you need an official photo ID, a Swiss home address and, at several providers, a residence permit or the commune’s registration confirmation. Opening online can take around ten minutes. Entry-level everyday accounts cost between nothing and CHF 5 a month, and deposits are protected up to CHF 100,000 per client and bank.
Why open a Swiss bank account soon after you arrive?
Salaries, rent and most bills in Switzerland are paid by bank transfer, and invoices arrive as QR-bills or eBills paid from a Swiss account. Several providers ask for your permit or the commune’s registration confirmation, so the usual order is: register at your commune, open the account, then pay rent and any deposit.
Invoices come as a QR-bill, the Swiss payment slip with a QR code that a banking app scans, or as an eBill that lands in your e-banking for approval. PostFinance’s basic package includes eBill and TWINT (the Swiss payment app) (PostFinance, checked ); Raiffeisen’s packages include TWINT too (Raiffeisen, checked ).
Registration comes first: see registering at your commune. How a rental deposit is held and returned is in rental deposits in Switzerland, and the other deadlines of a move in your first 90 days in Switzerland.
What does a Swiss bank check, and which documents do you need?
Swiss anti-money-laundering law requires a bank to verify your identity from an official document and to establish who owns the money. In practice that means a valid passport or identity card, your Swiss home address and, if you are not Swiss, a residence permit or registration proof. Each provider adds conditions, such as a minimum age.
- Identity: checked from a document of evidentiary value when the relationship starts (GwG Art. 3) (GwG, checked ).
- Beneficial owner: a declaration is needed if the money is not yours or there is any doubt (Art. 4) (GwG, checked ).
- Records: kept for at least ten years after the relationship ends (Art. 7) (GwG, checked ).
The method is set out in the Swiss Bankers Association’s code of conduct on due diligence (CDB 20), in force since 1 January 2020. Opening an account always triggers identification, and the bank records your name, date of birth, nationality and actual home address, plus the document used (CDB 20, checked ).
What to have ready
0 of 5 done
Your ticks are saved in this browser only.
Three ways a bank can identify you
| Route | What the bank does | Rule |
|---|---|---|
| In a branch | Inspects and copies an official photo ID | CDB 20 Art. 9 |
| Video call | Counts as meeting in person | CDB 20 Art. 9 |
| By post or online | Gets an authenticated copy of your ID and checks your address | CDB 20 Art. 10 |
FINMA’s Circular 2016/7 sets the technical rules for video and online identification.
How long does opening an account take, and can you do it online?
Often less than a day. PostFinance says a package opens in around ten minutes online or at a branch, with access straight away, and Raiffeisen lets you use a new account immediately. Debit cards follow by post. From 1 November 2026, FINMA’s revised rules also let banks identify new clients online with the Swiss e-ID.
UBS opens accounts in its app around the clock with a biometric passport or ID, otherwise by video call on weekdays from 8:00 to 20:00 (UBS, checked ). Raiffeisen’s app reads a biometric passport’s chip; without one, an existing Swiss bank account is needed to activate the new account (Raiffeisen, checked ).
FINMA’s revised Circular 2016/7 applies from 1 November 2026. It lets banks use the federal e-ID for online onboarding, treats ID documents with a QR code, such as the Swiss driving licence, like those with a machine-readable zone, and adds liveness detection to online identification (FINMA, checked ).
Opening an everyday account, step by step
-
First
Register at your commune
Keep the confirmation: UBS accepts it in place of a permit card.
-
Before applying
Compare conditions and fees
Age limits, accepted permits and US-person rules differ.
-
Around 10 minutes
Apply and prove your identity
In the app, by video call or at a branch, with your passport or identity card.
-
Straight away
Use the account
At PostFinance and Raiffeisen; Yuh first needs a transfer from an account in your name.
-
Days later
The debit card arrives by post
Raiffeisen says in the coming days.
Can you open an account before your permit arrives?
Sometimes. UBS accepts the commune’s registration confirmation from non-Swiss nationals but not a pending permit application. Yuh wants the physical permit card and neon a B or C permit. If a paper is missing at opening, a bank may open the account in exceptional cases, but the paper must follow within 30 days.
Under the code of conduct, missing documents must arrive within 30 days of opening; otherwise the bank blocks all deposits and withdrawals, and it ends the relationship if they never come (CDB 20, checked ). The provider rules below come from their own pages (UBS, checked ) (Yuh FAQ, checked ) (neon price list, checked ) (Raiffeisen, checked ). PostFinance says customers living abroad can open a package with a limited range of products, for CHF 25 a month extra per payment account (PostFinance, checked ).
What non-Swiss applicants need, as each provider states it
| Provider | Where you must live | Permit or other paper |
|---|---|---|
| neon | Switzerland, with tax domicile only here | B or C permit |
| PostFinance | Switzerland, or abroad for CHF 25 a month extra | Not stated |
| Raiffeisen (app) | Tax residence in Switzerland | Not stated; biometric passport |
| UBS | Resident and taxable in Switzerland | B, C, Ci or L permit, or registration confirmation; no pending applications |
| Yuh | Switzerland, Austria or Liechtenstein | Physical permit card; an application confirmation is not enough |
Provider pages read on 21 October 2026.
Can US citizens open a Swiss bank account?
Some providers accept US persons and some do not. Under the Swiss–US FATCA agreement, Swiss banks report US clients’ accounts to the IRS with the client’s consent. Yuh states that US persons cannot open an account, and neon requires a tax domicile exclusively in Switzerland. The UBS, PostFinance and Raiffeisen pages cited here state no exclusion.
FATCA, the US Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act, makes foreign banks disclose US accounts. Switzerland’s agreement has applied since 2 June 2014 under Model 2: banks disclose account details directly to the US tax authority with the client’s consent; without it, the US must use administrative assistance. A Model 1 agreement with automatic, reciprocal exchange was signed on 27 June 2024; its earliest entry into force is 1 January 2029 (SIF, checked ).
Yuh excludes US persons, meaning US citizens and permanent residents (Yuh FAQ, checked ); neon requires a tax domicile exclusively in Switzerland (neon price list, checked ). Where a page states no rule, the bank can say which forms it needs. More on the move: moving to Switzerland from the USA.
Does PostFinance have to give you an account?
Only within limits. The Postal Services Act makes Swiss Post ensure a nationwide universal service in payment transactions, and PostFinance delivers it. It covers at least one Swiss-franc payment account for people and firms with domicile or seat in Switzerland, but PostFinance may refuse customers on money-laundering, sanctions or serious reputational grounds.
Art. 32 of the Postal Services Act requires Swiss Post to ensure a nationwide universal service in payment transactions, meaning deposits, withdrawals and transfers (PG Art. 32, checked ). The Postal Ordinance gives the duty to PostFinance and sets the minimum offer (Art. 2 and 43). Under Art. 45, PostFinance may exclude customers if financial-market, anti-money-laundering or embargo rules conflict, if compliance would cost disproportionately, or if serious legal and reputational damage threatens (VPG, checked ). Other banks set their own conditions.
PostFinance’s universal service
| What the law says | |
|---|---|
| Who is covered | People and firms with domicile, seat or establishment in Switzerland |
| What is covered | A Swiss-franc payment account, transfers, cash in and cash out |
| Not covered | Cross-border payments |
| Access | Cash services within 20 minutes for 90 percent of a canton’s residents |
| Refusal possible | Money-laundering, financial-market or embargo conflicts; serious legal or reputational risk |
Postal Services Act Art. 2 and 32; Postal Ordinance Art. 2 and 43–45.
What does an everyday Swiss bank account cost?
At the 11 providers in the table, an adult’s entry-level everyday account costs between nothing and CHF 5 a month: free at seven, CHF 3.50 at BCV without CHF 10,000 in assets, CHF 4 at BCGE and CHF 5 at PostFinance. Raiffeisen’s prices depend on the local bank. Cards, cash and paper statements can cost extra.
UBS Easy opens only in the UBS app; UBS Classic costs CHF 8 a month with CHF 10,000 in assets or a UBS mortgage, otherwise CHF 13, and new clients get the first six months free (UBS price list, checked ). PostFinance charges CHF 5 a month more for paper statements (PostFinance, checked ). Raiffeisen refers to its app or the local bank for prices (Raiffeisen, checked ).
neon and Yuh are apps, not banks. neon’s account and card come from Hypothekarbank Lenzburg AG, and cash deposits are not possible (neon price list, checked ). Yuh’s banking services come from Swissquote Bank (Yuh FAQ, checked ); its account and card are free, with one free cash withdrawal a week in Switzerland (Yuh pricing, checked ).
Figures for BCGE (BCGE fees, checked ), BCV (BCV, checked ), Migros Bank (Migros Bank price list, checked ), Zak by Bank Cler (Zak factsheet, checked ), Zuger Kantonalbank (Zuger Kantonalbank, checked ) and Zürcher Kantonalbank (ZKB, checked ) (ZKB Visa Debit, checked ) come from their own price lists and product pages, with conditions shown in the table, such as BCV’s CHF 10,000 asset threshold and the age limit for BCGE Privé.
- If cash matters, compare cash-machine charges and whether cash deposits are possible.
- If you may leave within a few years, compare the terms for customers abroad.
Everyday accounts at 11 providers
| Provider (bank holding the account) | Account, per month | Debit card | Swiss cash machines |
|---|---|---|---|
| Banque Cantonale de Genève (BCGE) | BCGE Privé, from age 26: 4 | Debit Mastercard: 50 a year (free up to age 25) | Free at BCGE and other cantonal banks; 2 at other banks |
| Banque Cantonale Vaudoise (BCV) | Direct pack: 0 with CHF 10,000 in assets at BCV, otherwise 3.50 | Visa Debit included | Free at BCV and other cantonal banks |
| Migros Bank | Privatkonto (private account): 0 | Visa Debit: main card free | Free at Migros Bank machines; 2 at others |
| neon (Hypothekarbank Lenzburg AG) | neon free: 0; neon plus: 2 | 20 once | 2.50 per withdrawal; neon plus: 2 free a month |
| PostFinance | Smart package: 5 | Included | Free at Postomats; 2 at other banks |
| Raiffeisen | Set by the local bank | Included in packages | Free at Raiffeisen machines |
| UBS | Easy: 0 from age 26, app only; Classic: 8 or 13 | Free in Easy | Free at UBS machines |
| Yuh (Swissquote Bank SA) | 0 | Free | 1 free a week, then 1.90 |
| Zak (Bank Cler AG) | Zak: 0; Zak Plus: 8 | Visa Debit: no annual fee | Free at Bank Cler machines; 2 at others on Zak, free on Zak Plus |
| Zuger Kantonalbank | Basic set: 8, or 4 with a securities account or mortgage; ‘fix.’ set: 0 | Basic: one card; ‘fix.’: one virtual card | Basic: 6 withdrawals a year free at any Swiss machine |
| Zürcher Kantonalbank | Up to 3 private accounts: 0; each further one: 1 | Visa Debit: up to 2 cards free; each further card 3.30 a month | Free at all cantonal banks; 2 at others |
BCGE fee brochure as of 1 January 2026; BCV banking packs page; Migros Bank price list of 1 June 2026; neon price list of 1 October 2026; PostFinance banking packages page; Raiffeisen account-opening page; UBS price list valid from 23 September 2026; Yuh pricing page; Zak factsheet (version 1.26); Zuger Kantonalbank account sets page; Zürcher Kantonalbank private account and Visa Debit pages.
Banks in our directory
Banque Cantonale de Genève (BCGE)
Banks · GenèveGeneva cantonal bank with an English website and English fee brochure. BCGE Privé current account for residents aged 26 and over, opened online with a video or selfie identity check, or in a branch.
Checked by our editors · not yet confirmed by the business.
Is this your business?Banque Cantonale Vaudoise (BCV)
Banks · LausanneVaud cantonal bank with English pages for people new to Vaud. Banking packs include a current account and Visa Debit card; accounts open in a branch or in the BCV Mobile app.
Checked by our editors · not yet confirmed by the business.
Is this your business?PostFinance
Banks · BernSwiss Post's bank offering low-cost CHF accounts for Swiss residents, opened online with ID check via video call or at a post office branch; site in English.
Checked by our editors · not yet confirmed by the business.
Is this your business?Raiffeisen
Banks · St. GallenCooperative banking group with local Raiffeisen banks. English page and app for opening an account; packages include private account, debit card, e-banking and TWINT. Prices are set by the local bank.
Checked by our editors · not yet confirmed by the business.
Is this your business?UBS
Banks · ZürichMajor Swiss bank with dedicated English pages for people relocating to Switzerland; accounts can be opened digitally via app once registered as resident.
Checked by our editors · not yet confirmed by the business.
Is this your business?Zuger Kantonalbank (ZugerKB)
Banks · ZugZug cantonal bank with an English website and a Welcome to Switzerland page for newcomers. Personal advice in English and German; online account opening in under 10 minutes with passport or ID.
Checked by our editors · not yet confirmed by the business.
Is this your business?Is your money protected, and which bank actually holds it?
Deposits at a Swiss bank are protected up to CHF 100,000 per client and bank, with accounts at the same bank added together. With app providers, the limit applies at the bank behind the app: Hypothekarbank Lenzburg for neon, Swissquote for Yuh. Money held only through a virtual Swiss IBAN, as at Revolut, is not covered.
The Banking Act gives deposits in your name priority in a bank’s bankruptcy up to CHF 100,000 per creditor, but not deposits at firms working as banks without a FINMA licence (Art. 37a) (BankG, checked ). esisuisse, which runs the scheme, adds accounts at the same bank together, treats a joint account as a separate client and protects clients living abroad. A payout can take several weeks; from 1 January 2028 the aim is seven working days (esisuisse, checked ).
For Yuh, the limit covers Yuh and Swissquote accounts together (Yuh FAQ, checked ). Clients with only a virtual IBAN at a Swiss bank, such as Revolut’s, have no contract with that bank and so no Swiss protection (esisuisse, checked ).
Who holds the money
| Provider | Bank holding the deposit | Swiss protection per client |
|---|---|---|
| neon | Hypothekarbank Lenzburg AG | Up to CHF 100,000 |
| PostFinance, Raiffeisen, UBS | The bank itself | Up to CHF 100,000 |
| Revolut | Virtual IBAN only | None in Switzerland |
| Yuh | Swissquote Bank SA | Up to CHF 100,000, shared with Swissquote |
esisuisse provider list (subject to change); Banking Act Art. 37a.
What happens to your Swiss bank account when you leave Switzerland?
Terms change once you live abroad, so they are worth checking before you move. PostFinance keeps customers abroad for CHF 25 a month extra per payment account, while neon does not allow a foreign domicile and charges CHF 40 a month until the account is settled. UBS says closing an account is generally free of charge.
PostFinance offers customers abroad a limited range of products (PostFinance, checked ), and neon’s account must be settled once your domicile or tax residence moves abroad (neon price list, checked ). Closing a UBS account is generally free, with extra costs possible in some circumstances (UBS price list, checked ).
An account left behind can become dormant. A bank may transfer dormant assets to another bank without consent and liquidates them after 50 years if no one responds to a public notice, or without notice for amounts up to CHF 500; the proceeds go to the Confederation (Banking Act Art. 37l and 37m) (BankG, checked ).
If you move abroad
-
PostFinance, customer abroad
CHF 25 a month
Extra per payment account, limited products.
-
neon, domicile abroad
CHF 40 a month
Not permitted; charged until the account is settled.
-
Dormant assets
50 years
Then liquidated if no one responds to a public notice.
Swiss bank account questions
Can a foreigner open a bank account in Switzerland?
Yes, if you live here. Banks verify your identity from an official document and record your home address, and several ask non-Swiss applicants for a residence permit. PostFinance must offer a basic payment account to people domiciled in Switzerland, with exceptions.
Can I open a Swiss bank account without a residence permit?
At some providers. UBS accepts the commune’s registration confirmation but not a pending permit application. Yuh wants the physical permit card and neon a B or C permit. Missing documents must follow within 30 days of opening.
How long does it take to open a Swiss bank account?
Online, often minutes. PostFinance says around ten minutes, with access straight away, and Raiffeisen lets you use a new account immediately. The debit card follows by post in the following days.
Can I open a Swiss bank account online?
Yes. Swiss rules treat video identification like a meeting in person. UBS and Raiffeisen open accounts in their apps with a biometric passport. From 1 November 2026, FINMA also allows the Swiss e-ID for online onboarding.
How much does a Swiss bank account cost per month?
At the 11 providers in this guide, entry-level accounts cost between nothing and CHF 5 a month: seven charge nothing, BCV CHF 3.50 below CHF 10,000 in assets, BCGE CHF 4 and PostFinance CHF 5. Cards, cash withdrawals and paper statements may cost extra.
Can US citizens open a Swiss bank account?
At some providers. Swiss banks report US clients’ accounts to the IRS under FATCA, currently with the client’s consent. Yuh does not accept US persons. A Model 1 agreement signed in 2024 cannot enter into force before 1 January 2029.
Are neon and Yuh real banks?
No, they are apps. neon’s accounts are held at Hypothekarbank Lenzburg AG and Yuh’s at Swissquote Bank, where deposits are protected up to CHF 100,000 per client and bank. Revolut accounts with only a virtual Swiss IBAN have no Swiss protection.
What happens to my Swiss bank account if I move abroad?
PostFinance keeps customers abroad for CHF 25 a month extra per payment account; neon requires you to settle the account and charges CHF 40 a month until you do. Dormant assets are liquidated after 50 years.
Sources
Last checked by the expat-services.ch editorial team
- Fedlex, SR 955.0 Anti-Money Laundering Act (GwG/AMLA), Art. 3, 4 and 7, as at 1 October 2026 (in German) (opens in a new tab)
- Swiss Bankers Association Agreement on the Swiss banks’ code of conduct with regard to the exercise of due diligence (CDB 20), Art. 4, 7, 9, 10, 45 and 69 (opens in a new tab)
- Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) FINMA adopts partially revised Circular 2016/7 “Video and online identification”, in force 1 November 2026 (opens in a new tab)
- State Secretariat for International Finance (SIF) FATCA agreement: Model 2 since 2014, Model 1 signed 27 June 2024 (opens in a new tab)
- Fedlex, SR 783.0 Postal Services Act (PG), Art. 2 and 32: universal service in payment transactions (in German) (opens in a new tab)
- Fedlex, SR 783.01 Postal Ordinance (VPG), Art. 2 and 43–45, as at 1 April 2026 (in German) (opens in a new tab)
- Fedlex, SR 952.0 Banking Act (BankG), Art. 37a, 37l and 37m, as at 1 October 2026 (in German) (opens in a new tab)
- esisuisse Questions and answers on deposit protection (opens in a new tab)
- PostFinance Banking packages for adults: Smart, SmartPlus and customers abroad (opens in a new tab)
- UBS Switzerland AG Services and prices, valid from 23 September 2026 (opens in a new tab)
- UBS Switzerland AG Daily banking: requirements and documents for opening an account (opens in a new tab)
- neon Switzerland AG Services and prices, status 1 October 2026 (opens in a new tab)
- Yuh Ltd Help and FAQ: conditions for opening an account (opens in a new tab)
- Yuh Ltd Pricing (opens in a new tab)
- Raiffeisen Switzerland Open a bank account in Switzerland: packages and conditions (opens in a new tab)
- Banque Cantonale de Genève (BCGE) Payment and account fees brochure, as of 1 January 2026 (opens in a new tab)
- Banque Cantonale Vaudoise (BCV) Our banking packs: Direct banking pack (opens in a new tab)
- Migros Bank AG Preise für Dienstleistungen, 1 June 2026 (in German) (opens in a new tab)
- Bank Cler AG Bank Cler Zak factsheet, version 1.26 (in German) (opens in a new tab)
- Zuger Kantonalbank Account sets: Basic and ‘fix.’ (opens in a new tab)
- Zürcher Kantonalbank ZKB Privatkonto: account fees (in German) (opens in a new tab)
- Zürcher Kantonalbank ZKB Visa Debit Card: card and cash withdrawal fees (in German) (opens in a new tab)